Help Me/Question Ad Revenue?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CrazyTech

Yellow Belt
In your opinion, what's the best way to generate revenue for a website:

Should you manage your own clients or should you use a third party system such as CJ or Google to generate funds?

Moondancer

Yellow Belt
Suz would be one of the best people to ask about that so you might want to PM her from WMF.org. She is a whiz at it.

CrazyTech

Yellow Belt
I'll have to contact her, but I also still welcome opinions and ideas here as well. This is a general dark area for me as I have done very little in ad management in the past, and it's something I could certainly learn more about for future endeavors.

Y

YUKON

Seems like we need to get SUZ's "whizzness" cuz i also want to know more about this. I made a website for my uncle and he wants to makemoney with ad banners on his site.

YUK

Moondancer

Yellow Belt
well, i'm still learning so I wouldn't be a good one to ask, lol.. one thing I know... most of the bigger affiliate programs, although they pay well, they are so glutted that it's still hard to make money.. eg amazon pays 15% of each sale but getting sales from links would be really hard without a lot of traffic because everybody has links to amazon. another good paying one is xara.com, I'll try to think of some others, okay?

CrazyTech

Yellow Belt
Would be appreciated Moon. :)

I'm curious about the programs as well because I'd love to offer something unobtrusively here at WS in the near future.

Moondancer

Yellow Belt
from what i understand, google ads aren't paying as well as they did in the beginning so the best thing to do is look for affiliate programs but try to stay within site topic rather than just any old links.. amazon and xara would both fit here.. amazon because they offer tech books as well as everything else, you know? you can try adsense because it does still pay something.

CrazyTech

Yellow Belt