My Suggestion How Important Is ‘avatar’ In A Forum Profile?

networld

I have seen some forum owners are very particular about having an avatar for each and every member. I think an avatar is an excellent way to give a unique look and it also gives you an identity in the group. Other members would be able to recognize a person easily using his avatar.

A profile without an avatar seems like a faceless person and other members seldom identify his contributions in the forum. But using a good avatar in your profile will help other members easily remember your part in discussions. It is rightly said that a picture is worth a thousand words.

Webmasterserve

Staff member
Administrator
As a forum administrator, I find myself reminding members to upload and avatar and fill out their profile information. In a sense, being on a forum with no profile information and no avatar shows that members are not interested in creating their identity on the forum and not interested in becoming a part of the community. When you upload an avatar, it is a form of your identity just like your username, often times when we are browsing for a specific member's post or comment, we can scroll through the entire page and easily find their post based on their avatar, this would take much longer to accomplish if we were to read every username to locate the member we are interested in finding.

Filling out your profile information helps other members know about your background and to collaborate and network. If other members know that you are a Web Developer or have interest in Photography or SEO, they might be interested in networking with you or following your posts to learn from you. Since forums are platforms for learning and collaboration, I believe uploading your own avatars and filling out your profile information plays a big role in making the community more cohesive and friendly. Who would want to see a bunch of WMS default avatars throughout a thread in every post?

Vinaya